Ask an Expert
Discuss My Needs
Discuss My Needs
Ask an Expert
Keyes Life Safety

Our Life Safety educational resource hub is full of healthcare knowledge to help you be better informed of the changing world around you. 

Rather than sit back and act on decisions made by others, we are leading the charge as it relates to identifying best practices for Life Safety Code® and compliance. We have real people that give our clients real information that can be put into practice.

Interested in reading our experts' take on Life Safety? Then subscribe to our free blog below! We discuss readers' questions, share interesting observations from the field, and more.

Smoke Detector Sensitivity Test

by Brad Keyes, CHSP, on Oct 21, 2020 1:00:17 AM

Q: How often do we have to do our smoke detector sensitivity test? Is it every two years or three years?

A: According to NFPA 72-2010, section, the test frequency for smoke detector sensitivity is one-year after installation, then every two years thereafter. However, there are some exceptions:

  • After the second required calibration test, if sensitivity tests indicate that the device has remained within its listed and marked sensitivity range, the length of time between calibration tests shall be permitted to extend to a maximum of five years. If the frequency is extended, records of nuisance alarms and subsequent trends of those alarms must be maintained. In areas where nuisance alarms show any increase over the previous year, then a calibration test must be performed.

  • Fire alarm systems that have continuous analog smoke detection are exempt from the two-year sensitivity calibration testing but you still must have records of the sensitivity testing results to demonstrate compliance. These records are usually easily down-loaded from the fire alarm system computer.

So, put another way, if the smoke detector was installed in 2010, then the one-year sensitivity testing is required in 2011. Then the first required sensitivity test must be done in 2013, and the second required sensitivity test must be done in 2015. Then, if the results of the sensitivity tests in 2013 and 2015 show there are no abnormalities, then the next sensitivity test is not required until 2020.

Topics:Fire Detection SystemsSmoke Detectors

Real people. Real solutions.

We help you be better informed of the changing world around you.  Our life safety blog answers your real world questions! 



Subscribe to Updates

We care and want to help.

We want to help coach, guide, and navigate you through all things Life Safety.